+1.650.627.4531 inquiry@medeortx.com
Contact Us| Find us on:

Scientific Founders and Advisors


Scientific Founders

Samuel Strober, MD

Dr. Samuel Strober is Professor of Medicine at the Stanford University School of Medicine. He is member of the Division of Immunology and Rheumatology in the Department of Medicine and was Chief of that Division. He was President of the Clinical Immunology Society, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the La Jolla Institute for Immunology, and co-founder of the cell therapy companies, Dendreon and Medeor Therapeutics.

Dr. Strober’s laboratory and clinical research interests are in the areas of prevention of graft versus host disease after bone marrow transplantation of patients with hematologic malignancies, and the induction of immune tolerance in recipients of organ transplants. He has translated his laboratory research results concerning the molecular and cellular basis of immune tolerance into clinical trials to achieve the elimination of the lifelong need for immunosuppressive drugs after organ transplantation. Long term support for his Stanford research programs has been from the National Institutes of Health and more recently from the California Institute of Regenerative Medicine.



Edgar G. Engleman, MD

Dr. Ed Engleman is Professor of Pathology and Medicine at Stanford University School of Medicine, where he oversees the Stanford Blood Center, which he established in 1978, and an immunology research group comprised of 15 graduate students and postdoctoral scholars. He is also Co-Director of the Immunology and Immunotherapy Program of the Stanford Cancer Institute and teaches the course on Tumor Immunology at the medical school. Dr. Engleman has authored more than 300 scientific and medical publications and has trained more than 100 graduate students and postdoctoral scholars, many of whom have gone on to successful careers in industry and academia.

In addition to his Stanford commitments, Dr. Engleman is Co-founder and Managing Partner of Vivo Capital, a leading healthcare focused investment firm with offices in the U.S. and Asia and over $3 billion under management. He has also founded or co-founded a number of biopharmaceutical companies including Genelabs, Dendreon, Bolt and Tranquis, in addition to Medeor. He produced the first monoclonal antibodies to human T lymphocytes and their subsets and using these antibodies he developed and implemented the first test to screen blood donors for AIDS—prior to the discovery of HIV. He is the lead inventor of the technology underlying Sipuleucel-T (Provenge), which was shown to extend life for patients with metastatic prostate cancer and was the first cancer immunotherapy to be approved by the FDA. Dr. Engleman received his B.A. from Harvard and his M.D. from Columbia. He completed his residency in internal medicine at UCSF, training in biochemistry at NIH and postdoctoral training in immunology at Stanford.



Robert Lowsky MD

Dr Robert Lowsky MD., is one of the scientific founders of Medeor. He is a hematologist and bone marrow transplantation physician researcher, and professor of medicine at Stanford University. He has over 25 years of experience in the field, and his scholarship’s central theme is bench-to-bedside translation of preclinical models of bone marrow transplantation (BMT) to clinical medicine to establish proof of principle that scientific approaches can be used to treat diseases in humans.

His specific areas include Cellular Therapies in context of a) Allogeneic Hematopoietic Transplantation for Cancer Patients that enhance beneficial graft-versus-tumor reactions, yet decrease harmful graft-versus-host reactions, and b) Organ Transplantation Tolerance by developing protocols to promote normal graft function yet without the need for high doses of lifelong immune suppression medication.



Scientific Advisors

Dan Brennan, M.D.
Professor of Medicine
Medical Director, Comprehensive Transplant Center
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
[learn more]

Antoine Durrbach, M.D. Ph.D.
Professor (Nephrology, Transplant, Immunology)
Le Kremlin Bicetre, IDF | France
[learn more]

Osama Gaber, M.D.
J.C. Walter Jr. Presidential Distinguished Chair and
Director, J.C. Walter Jr. Transplant Center
Professor of Surgery, Institute for Academic Medicine
Full Member, Research Institute
Program Director, Transplant Surgery Residency, Department of Surgery
Houston Methodist Hospital and Research Institute
[learn more]

Peiman Hematti, M.D.
Professor, Division of Hematology
Medical Oncology and Palliative Care
University of Wisconsin
[learn more]

Richard Hoppe, M.D
Henry S Kaplan-Harry Lebeson Professor of Cancer Biology
Stanford University School of Medicine
[learn more]

Michelle Josephson, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Surgery
Medical Director, Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation
The University of Chicago
[learn more]

Sandip Kapur, M.D.
Professor of Surgery
Chief, Division of Transplant Surgery
G. Tom Shires, M.D. Faculty Scholar in Surgery
New York-Presbyterian/Weill Cornell Medical Center
[learn more]

Dixon Kaufman, M.D., Ph.D.
Ray D. Owen Professor of Surgery
Chairman, Division of Transplantation
Section of Kidney and Pancreas Surgery
University of Wisconsin
[learn more]

Anthony Monaco, M.D.
Peter Medawar Professor of Surgery
Harvard Medical School
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center
[learn more]

Ken Newell, M.D., Ph.D.
Vice Chair for Academic Affairs
Professor of Surgery
Division of Transplantation
Department of Surgery
Program Director, Abdominal Transplant Surgery Fellowship
Emory University School of Medicine
[learn more]

Elizabeth Pomfret, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief of Transplant Surgery
Professor of Surgery
University of Colorado School of Medicine
[learn more]